Free Walking Tours in Florence Are Tip-Based
Booking a free walking tour costs nothing, and at the end you pay the guide what you think the walk was worth. How Tour-Tale and GuruWalk describe their walks, the licence and headset rules every guide in Florence works under, and how tip-based walks compare with the fixed-price walks.
A free walking tour in Florence is tip-based: booking costs nothing, and at the end you pay the guide what you think the walk was worth. GuruWalk, which lists such walks, puts it this way: “Free tours in Florence don’t have a fixed price. At the end, each person contributes to the guide the amount they consider fair based on their satisfaction.” As a guideline it suggests €15 to €50 per participant. Florence Free Tour-Tale gives its main walk as “Duration: 2 hours 15’ approx. Cost: tip-based.” The guides on these walks work under the same national licence and city rules as every other guide in Florence.

If you would rather know the price before you go, Tour-Tale also sells a walk at a fixed price. The calendar below is its “Florence: Renaissance and Medici Tales Guided Walking Tour”, from $14 when we checked in October 2026 and rated 4.8 from 2,103 reviews. It meets in Piazza di San Lorenzo and runs for 2.25 hours past Palazzo Medici Riccardi, the Duomo with Giotto’s bell tower and Brunelleschi’s dome, the House of Dante, Palazzo Vecchio, Piazza della Signoria, the Loggia dei Lanzi and Ponte Vecchio, ending outside the Uffizi. It is offered in English and Spanish, includes the guide but no entries, takes place rain or shine, and can be cancelled free up to 24 hours before.
How the tip works
There is no price, only a suggestion. GuruWalk’s guideline of €15 to €50 per participant is its own figure; Tour-Tale’s site, in the text we read, says only “Cost: tip-based”. You pay the guide at the end, and the amount is yours to decide.
Booking still matters. GuruWalk says “Reserving costs nothing, holds your place, tells the guide how many are coming, and cancels free”, and Tour-Tale asks you to “book in advance to guarantee your tour”. When we checked on 7 October 2026, GuruWalk’s Florence page listed 28 tours and 46,250 reviews.
The guides are not volunteers. Tour-Tale describes them as “the self-employed freelance guides who are the providers of the tours” it promotes. Its main walk takes about 2 hours 15 minutes and its other walks about 1 hour 45; GuruWalk’s Florence listings run from 1 hour 45 minutes to 2 hours 15.
The rules every guide in Florence works under
Tip-based walks are not exempt from any of these.
- The licence. Since Law 190/2023 the tourist-guide licence is national, and every guide must be on the national list. Guiding without it costs €3,000 to €12,000, and agencies or platforms that use unlisted guides €5,000 to €15,000. Intermediaries, digital platforms included, must show the guide’s registration number, and guides must wear their ID badge where you can see it and be clear about what they charge.
- The voice. Since February 2025 no guide in Florence may use a voice amplifier, whatever the group’s size, and street groups of more than eight people, not counting the guide, must use wireless headsets. Headsets are a rule, not an extra.
- Inside museums. Only licensed professional guides may guide inside the Uffizi and the Accademia’s group of museums. The Uffizi caps groups at 16, guide included, with headsets above six; the Accademia allows 20 plus the guide, with headsets for six or more.
What a walk includes, and what it does not
A street walk shows the sights from outside. It can take you into the Cathedral only from Monday to Saturday, 10:15 am to 3:45 pm, when entry is free, with shoulders and knees covered and no bulky luggage. The Accademia and the Uffizi need timed, named tickets, and the dome needs a named slot on the Brunelleschi Pass, €30 in 2026. None of the three walks compared below includes any of them.
Tip-based or fixed price: how they compare
| Tip-based walk | Tour-Tale, fixed price | StarFlorence | My Green Tour | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | None fixed; GuruWalk suggests €15 to €50 a person | From $14 | From $26 | From $32 |
| When you pay | At the end, to the guide | When you book | When you book | When you book |
| Length | 1 h 45 to 2 h 15, as published | 2.25 hours | Not stated | Not stated |
| Included | The walk | The guide | Guide and a radio system to hear them | Guide and a free luggage deposit |
| Cancellation | Free, says GuruWalk | Free up to 24 hours before | Free up to 24 hours before | Free up to 24 hours before |
The fixed price buys a set amount, a held place and a refund window. The tip-based walk lets you set the price after you have seen the walk.
Book whichever fits you:
Renaissance and Medici Tales
Meets in Piazza di San Lorenzo and ends outside the Uffizi; English or Spanish; no entries included.
Check dates →Florence: Guided Walking Tour
The Duomo, the Signoria, Ponte Vecchio and the Pitti Palace from outside; English, French or Italian; three starting points; runs with at least two guests.
See the walk →Highlights Walking Tour
San Lorenzo, the Duomo, the Signoria and Ponte Vecchio; two starting points; eight languages; rain or shine.
See the walk →Prices, ratings and review counts from our October 2026 data check; operators use seasonal pricing, so treat them as the shape of the market, not a quote.
Other walks, museums included
For the museums themselves you need tickets, which no street walk includes. “Florence: Uffizi & Accademia Small Group Walking Tour” covers both galleries in about four hours, with timed tickets and headsets, in groups of 10 to 15 (from $54, rated 4.7 from 1,434 reviews). Walks In Europe’s Medici tour includes pre-booked tickets to the Medici Chapels and Michelangelo’s New Sacristy, meets by the Chapels’ entrance in Piazza di Madonna degli Aldobrandini, does not run on the first Sunday of the month and is not suitable for wheelchair users (from $89, rated 4.8 from 615 reviews). Tour-Tale’s other walk on the platform, “Florence: Dark Mysteries and Legends Guided Walking Tour”, meets near the statue of General Fanti in Piazza San Marco and ends at Ponte Vecchio; it is not suitable for under-18s or pregnant women (from $14, rated 4.6 from 1,389 reviews). The walking tours page compares them all.
Questions people ask
Are free walking tours in Florence really free?
Booking is free; the walk is not. It is tip-based: you pay the guide at the end what you think the walk was worth, and GuruWalk suggests €15 to €50 per person.
Do you need to book a free walking tour in Florence?
In practice, yes. GuruWalk’s free reservation holds your place and tells the guide how many are coming, and Tour-Tale asks you to book in advance to guarantee your tour.
Do free walking tours go inside the Duomo or the museums?
Not the museums: those need timed, named tickets, and the walks include none. A walk can enter the Cathedral, which is free from Monday to Saturday between 10:15 am and 3:45 pm.
How long is a walking tour in Florence?
The published tip-based walks take 1 hour 45 minutes to 2 hours 15. Tour-Tale’s fixed-price walk takes 2.25 hours, and the guided tour of the Uffizi and the Accademia about four.
What is the best guided tour in Florence?
No official ranking exists. Choose by what you want the guide for: the free centre (the walks above, or Florence in one day to fit one into a day), the David or the Uffizi, where a tour adds the timed tickets and a guide inside (the David page, the Uffizi page), the dome (the Duomo page), food (the food tours page), or the hills on an e-bike (the bike tours page). Things to do in Florence sorts the sights themselves.

Book Tour-Tale's Fixed-Price Medici Walk
Tour-Tale's Renaissance and Medici Tales walk at a fixed price, in English or Spanish: 2.25 hours from Piazza di San Lorenzo past the Duomo, Palazzo Vecchio, the Loggia dei Lanzi and Ponte Vecchio, ending outside the Uffizi. The guide is included and no entries are; it runs rain or shine. From $14 as of October 2026, rated 4.8 from 2,103 reviews, with free cancellation up to 24 hours before.
Check Availability & Book